Orari Estate

The Orari Estate is farmed by the Morten family, descendents of the the Macdonald brothers who took up a sheep run in 1854.  It was located between the Orari River, the Rangitata River, the coast, back to the Arundel Bridge, Proudfoot Corner and across to the Rangitata River and named it Matatiki and after 1857 the name was changed to Orari.

Orari Estate is one of four stations in South Canterbury which has never changed hands except by inheritance. The others are Te Waimate, Mount Peel and Mount Cook.

Each year the estate opens its gardens for private tours and to the public to view the stunning display of Himalayan Lillies.  Check out this interesting blog about all the gardens and homesteads that open to the public each year.